Thread: What Made You Want to Play Drums?

User Info Menu

Default What Made You Want to Play Drums?

For me it was instinctual. I felt rhythm from a very young age. It wasn't any one song or seeing someone play live. I just knew that I wanted to play drums as if it was brought over from a previous life or something. There's that saying, "I didn't choose it, it chose me" which I can identify with. I would play drum fills to a song in mid air. I just knew I could do it. I started asking for a drumset when I was about 9 years old but it would take many years before my parents bought me one. Then, I started learning beats and practicing to records. And the rest, as they say, is history.

What about you?

User Info Menu

Default Re: What Made You Want to Play Drums?

Damn good question Tom. Wish I had a good answer for you.

When Topsy Pt 2 came out I had been playing for about 2 years and when Let There Be Drums came out I had been playing for about 5 years. Obviously it was something I heard but I can't tell you what.
    YOU MESS WITH THE DEVIL YOU KNOW.

YOU DON'T MESS WITH THE DEVIL YOU DON'T KNOW.

VAE VICTIS

ONCE YOU HIT A CERTAIN AGE, YOU BECOME PERMANENTLY UNIMPRESSED BY A LOT OF CRAP.

I HIT THAT AGE 20 YEARS AGO.

IF DOGS CAN'T GO TO HEAVEN, I WANT TO GO WHERE THEY GO

WILL ROGERS

User Info Menu

Tom, I am like you. I was always banging on stuff at home.Got hollered at in school for "soloing" on the desk with pencils. Got a set of bongos and drove my family crazy. When I was 13 I got my first real drums. Been playing ever since.
    Rick

Mapex Sabian Ludwig Saluda Assorted Snare Drums

User Info Menu

I saw all the bands from the British invasion.
    How come every band had multiple guitars and singers but they needed this one guy behind the kit driving the whole machine?
    I thought the drummer had the coolest job.....I watched with detail every move from Watts, Ringo, and Dave Clark, along with many others.