Thread: Need help advice for Roland TD-17 kvx Kit Module Should I or Shouln't I

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

User Info Menu

Default Need help advice for Roland TD-17 kvx Kit Module Should I or Shouldn't I

Should I or shouldn't I change the Pan settings to all Centered or leave as they are. I'm new to vdrums and would like opinions & advice. I have changed all the volumes to +4.0 and change all the Pan settings to Center. Most of the dB Levels were set at Minus Levels. Thoughts? Thanks
    Last edited by KillerB; 08-22-2022 at 01:47 PM.

User Info Menu

Default Re: Need help advice for Roland TD-17 kvx Kit Module Should I or Shouln't I

Welcome to Drum Chat.

Everything typed below is only MHO and how I got started with E-kits. YMMV

My approach is to start with factory settings until you get used to how to play an E-Kit. There's no cave man approach. You use finesse and dynamics to control your volume.

For your pan question, if your outputs are going to any stereo device keep the pan. That way (IMHO) you get the stage presence better. (i.e. Your floor tom, if on the right, will sound like it's coming from the right, in your perspective.) By centering everything, you're pretty much trying to mimic an acoustic kit.

You need to separate your mindset from acoustic to E-kit. They are way different in approach and presentation.

P.S. It's not about the overall volume.
    Last edited by Bish; 08-23-2022 at 02:23 PM.
    Signature here

User Info Menu

Default Re: Need help advice for Roland TD-17 kvx Kit Module Should I or Shouln't I

Thanks for the welcome and for sharing your knowledge. I've been lurking for a couple years now.

I've been playing my Vdums on and off over the past year, more off than on because I developed Tinnitus, any idea's on help with that would be appreciated.