Thread: Back to single pedal

User Info Menu

Default Back to single pedal

The pedal setup for me is important depending on the music I'm playing. When I was in the metal band I used the double, Tama IC jr's and they came in handy for certain areas of different songs.

When I started in the southern rock band I kept them set up but eventually ditched it because I just wasn't using it at all.

With the new band I guess there are places to throw a double kick in here and there but I have yet to play any of the songs with a double. I will be the first to admit I'm not very good with double bass, never have been. In a way it's a distraction for me. I feel more in control with my single. I think I have a good balance between what's going on up top on toms and cymbals and below on the pedal.

I keep time on the hh pedal too.
    I like the stay at home feel of my left not doing more than working the hh. Set up is easier etc, etc

Using a Mapex 950 double chain pedal. Pretty smooth, good action
    Last edited by slinky; 01-23-2023 at 08:05 AM.
    RDM/Damage Poets
    UFiP TAMAHA Zildjian
    REGAL TiP
    AQUARIAN

User Info Menu

Default Re: Back to single pedal

I use a modified old Ludwig Standard (direct drive)pedal. I added a baseplate,adjustable beater angle, new bearings, bushings and beater. It's a great pedal now.
    Rick

Mapex Sabian Ludwig Saluda Assorted Snare Drums

User Info Menu

I don't think I could ever go back to a single.... but I guess it would definitely be song/band influenced

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by slanddad View Post
    I use a modified old Ludwig Standard (direct drive)pedal. I added a baseplate,adjustable beater angle, new bearings, bushings and beater. It's a great pedal now.
    put up any before and after pics if you got any, would like to see them
    RDM/Damage Poets
    UFiP TAMAHA Zildjian
    REGAL TiP
    AQUARIAN

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by PDP_Drummer View Post