Thread: Any Lefties? (Not the Tim Robbins, Susan Sarandon kind!)

User Info Menu

Default Any Lefties? (Not the Tim Robbins, Susan Sarandon kind!)

Hey any other Lefties out there? I'm a left handed drummer who just got a set after not playing for many years. I was curious if there were many other lefties and how they played/setup their kits. I started drumming in middle school and always had to share the kit with others so I learned to play with an open (left hand) high hat form because I couldn't flip the drums around. I'd like to hear from some others and whether you just learned to play the right handed setup or switched your kit around to suit you. I'm debating whether to just keep practicing in the form I learned with or to switch the drums around so I may be able to play more comfortably and possibly better.

Thanks

Ernie S.

User Info Menu

I am a lefty and set my kit up opposite of the right handed drummers.
    Last edited by backtodrum; 01-10-2008 at 07:40 PM.

User Info Menu

I'm lefty and the only thing I do righty is drum. Not sure why but when I got my set I just set it up for a righty and figured if I had real problems I would set it up for a lefty but never have. Sounds like a project for the weekend and see how it goes.
    I sleep with my sticks.

User Info Menu

"Not the Tim Robbins, Susan Sarandon kind!"

User Info Menu

Over 2,500 left-handed people die each year from using products designed for right-handed people

Just FYI

6-piece Pearl Export Series
    -Sabian/Zildjian
    -DW5000 double-bass pedals
    -Ahead aluminum drum sticks!

User Info Menu

Hi.

User Info Menu

Cool Any lefties?

Quote Originally Posted by ATC View Post
    Over 2,500 left-handed people die each year from using products designed for right-handed people...
    Did they include drum kits?