Thread: Hand/frame drum advice.

User Info Menu

Default Hand/frame drum advice.

I'll start by giving a small introduction of myself. I'm a young hobbyist of music, and I've learned to play all kinds of different string and wind instruments, including 'normal' things like trumpets and piano, to 'weirder' things like psalteries and ocarinas. I've always been mildly intimidated by percussion and have never actively played a drum before, and didn't have a desire to, until I recently started investigating some different instruments. Regardless, it's a pleasure to meet you all.

I've become particularly interested in frame drums, especially the larger ones. I know next to nothing about drums in particular, except what would transfer over from other instruments, such as bigger drums would equal deeper sound, etc.

I've been offered a pretty decent deal on a Remo frame drum, 22", with a Fiberskyn head. It's not tuneable though.

I'm wondering if that drum is something I should be considering. I'm aware that a tuneable drum would be better, as even Fiberskyn heads will probably get "off" eventually, but I'm not even positive I'll want to pursue the instrument. I was hoping you guys could help me with some things, like if Fiberskyn is better or worse than natural material for heads, or if there was another drum I should look into.

Thanks guys, I hope to start enjoying drumming (however slowly I ease into it) and with help and practice, become a regular!

User Info Menu

Hi SPM! Welcome to Drum Chat! I'm a set player, so i would normally have to look into what you are talking about before I could say anything intelligent (or even something dumb LOL), be I've got to leave this morning and I won't be back for a week, so I'll have to say welcome, and leave it for the the rest to help you with this. Good to have you here, though!
    Quoting gonefishin: Just have some bacon with ya when you go pick her up..........youre an instant chick magnet.