Thread: Sticks

User Info Menu

Default Sticks

what brand sticks do you think work the best? Would buy them individually or bulk and whats the best way to get them if ur short on the cash.

Also sometimes to keep my sticks lasting longer, I add a little hockey tape to the shoulder. This way the sticks dont chip and dent as fast. Is this completely stupid for sound reasons or does it not matter.

User Info Menu

I've always had problems with my sticks chipping and getting whittled down at the shoulder, that's why I switched to Regal Tip Quantum 3000's. I've been using them for almost 20 years now. They're the same length and width as a 5B, but with a thicker neck. (Hardly any taper.) I use nylon tips. They last SO much longer. I also like the round ball for the tip.
    Regal Tip Quantum 3000 nylon tip - my weapons of mass destruction

User Info Menu

those look like great sticks, hopefully there not too expensive up here in the great white north. The only problem i have with the nylon tips is that the sticks that i used to use (Adrian Young Zildjian Nylons) the tips came off them. However the wider shoulder does sound very effective.

User Info Menu

You get what you pay for. If you buy cheap sticks, in most cases you'll get cheap sticks. They won't last. I use Vic Firth 5Bs. I use what feels good to me first and foremost. I don't hit as hard as the metal guys so I don't need the baseball bats, but I do still hit real hard when the energy of my band picks up. Mine get chewed up in the middle as a result of playing rim shots all night. If you're chewing them up on the shoulders, your cymbals may be too flat or you're not hitting correctly.

User Info Menu

I have vic firth nylon tips.. i like em.. lol
    I like nylon tips better cuz i think they bounce/roll a ltl better, and they sound a ltl better on the cymbal... but sometimes they leave marks on the cymbals but o well lol
    -Leslie (aka Lezzle..)