Thread: bass drum head problems.

User Info Menu

Exclamation bass drum head problems.

Hey.

This is my first post on Drum Chat. =p

So anyway , i have a Yamaha Yd series drum set that i purchased used on craigslist for $250. i noticed that the bass drum head had a 1" dent in it , but held off on replacing it, because i needed new cymbals first. i thought it would hold out for a little while.

i was wrong.

while i was practicing one day, i noticed that the bass drum was sounding very weird. i look down...... and the dent turned into A 3" hole!

i've gotten another bass head , a remo powerstroke 3.

how can i avoid getting other dent in the bass drum head? does it have to do with the tuning? or something else?

i know the obvious solution.... DONT HIT THE HEAD WITH EXTREME FORCE... even though i'm a beginner , i'm not that stupid lol.

any suggestions?

ThePloughman Guest

Default Re: bass drum head problems.

Back in the day.......... us old timers used Dr. Scholls moleskin, cut into a circle and cemented to the head. Nowadays, you can buy a patch. I still prefer the leather moleskin. Its not clicky. But more than likely, you have nothing to worry about without a patch.

User Info Menu

lol ploughman thats wat i do!
    DRUMMERBOCK

User Info Menu

the problem is probably having a cheap bass head that came with the new drumset, enough playing makes the beater really hot, and the thin plastic getting constantly pounded on, well you do the math

getting a quality head definitely helped and so would a remo falam slam. i have one on my bass head and you put it where the beater hits the head and it protects it without taking away any sound quality.

by the way: WELCOME TO DRUMCHAT!! its great to have you here, make yourself at home

User Info Menu

watch the beater how it hits the head. sometimes is needed to bent the beater.
    use a Remo fala slam
    Keep On Drumming

User Info Menu