Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Putting together a drum kit on the cheap

User Info Menu

Default Putting together a drum kit on the cheap

Hey guys!

I've been a drummer for about 2-3 years, but I've never had a kit of my own before. In late 2007 (September-October), I was talking to someone after a gig, and she mentioned that her son played drums, and had a kit sitting at her house that was just taking up space, that he didn't want anymore. She warned me that it was quite beat up, and offered it to me, free of charge.

The kit appeared to be an entry-level non-major brand (Blanking on the name ATM), but sounded pretty decent. The heads were beat up, and not at all types of heads that I would ever use. As well, the wrap was peeling off/ripping in a few spots.

So I took a screwdriver to the hardware, pulled it all off, bagged it, and then very carefully removed the wrap to reveal a set wonderful looking shells. I'm now planning to stain them, to make them look pretty. However, I've got some hardware questions.

You see, the kit was beat up in a few spots. All of the tensioning rods and lugs are in perfect shape on all the drums, and all the screws holding them were still there. However, I've only got 1 out of 2 bass drum legs, and only 2 of the 3 floor tom legs. Two of the floor tom leg-mounting brackets are absolutely destroyed. My question is, where does one buy that kind of hardware?

Secondly, I would like some advice on heads and cymbals. I've put together a list of heads that I'm considering, but I would like peopls opinions on them.

Snare Drum: Evans Power Center Reverse Dot (Coated)
    Bass Drum : Evans EQ2 Batter (Clear)
    Evans EQ2 Resonant (Black)
    Toms (3) : Evans EC2 (Clear)

By the way, this kit is a standard 5-piece (SD, BD, HT, LT, FT).