Thread: Remo UT & UK Heads Question Answered

User Info Menu

Default Remo UT & UK Heads Question Answered

My Question to Remo

I’ve been playing since 1964 and just received a new Sonor Force 3007 kit with the Remo UT batter heads made in China. Having not played your heads made in China I am interested in their construction and design. These are single ply I believe and actually sound amazingly good when tuned well. The head on the bass drum has a control dampening ring and sounds even better than the Evans EQ 4 that I like so much on my Gretsch kit. I have also seen Remo UK heads on Ludwig Accent kits. I realize they are not the same quality of the Remo heads sold here in the United States but could you enlighten me and others on these Remo heads?

Thanks in advance.
    Now playing Slingerland, Gretsch, & Sonor Drums
    Richard R.

Remo’s Answer
    Hello Ritter,

The Remo UT heads are made in our factory in China. They are made using the same Dupont Mylar film as is used on the Remo USA WeatherKing head. The difference is in the construction of the head.

Whereas the US head is made using a poured channel technique, the China heads are crimped. The aluminum hoop is folded over a steel ring that is inserted in the U-channel to hold the film in place. In terms of sound quality, the UT head is excellent due to the high quality film that we use.

Remo UK heads are also made in the same factory in China. These heads are designed for the entry-level kit and use a Korean film that still has good sound and durability features. Though not as good as Dupont Mylar film, it is far better than any of the cheap, local supply of film in China.

Many drum companies will utilize both models across various levels of quality in their production. For the a good entry-level kit, most companies opt for UK heads. For their mid-range kits, they will opt for the better UT heads.