Thread: New Heads to buy

User Info Menu

Post New Heads to buy

Hi, I currently have an old practise kit with equally old heads which are very badly dented and generally smashed up. I want to buy some new ones but am a complete newby on heads and suchlike. Does anyone have any ideas? I play mostly metal and hardcore typed music so will need something fairly durable, low to moderately priced

User Info Menu

Default Re: New Heads to buy

well with no more information than you have given, for metal music I would choose a two ply head from any of the major drum head companies. if you want a fairly non resonant type head an aquarian performance II would fit the bill, they are fairly thick two ply heads so they don't have a lot of ring or sustain. you can work up from there. The two ply heads are fairly dent resistant and seem to be the preferred head for metal players.

sonor Guest

Hey man
    Check out the remo pinstrips!!

User Info Menu

i play remo pinstripes and they work great
    (((Arbo)))
    Pearl Forum Series
    B8 Ride
    A Custom Master Shound Hats
    Zildjian Z Custom Crashes
    Wuhan China
    Tama Iron Cobra

User Info Menu

I would support Bactodrum's choice, but the Aquarian's make live performance really dull and often times you can barely hear. They are really good for studio work and practice sets, though I suggest if you don't own multiple sets to stick with a flexible head. The Remo Pinstripes are one top choice for metal and then there are the Emperors which I will probably be picking up soon, they are so far the best heads I've used in all settings from Evans G1, EC2, and Remo Weatherking.
    www.myspace.com/maudeephyfe
    The good times won't roll themselves
    Gretsch Renown Maple, Paiste Signature, Reflector, and Dark Energy

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by 32ndHeartBeat View Post