Thread: New, Too new.

User Info Menu

Default New, Too new.

Hello everyone. I'm new to drumming (To be exact i've just read up about some fact pages about names of a basic drumset and only ever really messed around for awhile) and i'd really like some tips on how to play a song for a talent show. I literally have zero to no experience with using actual drums (even though I can 'air' drum, pathetic I know).

So basically, here's the question and situation i'm in.

I've been asked to join a band for a talent show, as stated above and have no experience and roughly 5 months to practise for a song (Probably Red Flag by Billy Talent) I only need to know that one song which has a really fast, up beat opening with the bass pedal and either tom toms or the snare. (Opening Beat goes "bass, bass, snare snare, bass bass, snare snare")

I need to know how to improve my speed through possibly an action I can simply practise anywhere (Mainly for the bass drum, my feet are slow), and once again endurance because i'm looking at a 3: 36 song length here.

Other parts of the song will have to come through practise over time (Dang I respect all you accomplished and even fairly new but able to play drummers for all the hard work you've put in) I only have a guesstimation of 5 months to practise in with my band which won't be ever day (Not entirely sure) i'm sketchy about the whole thing seeing that it's a fairly hard song to learn for a novice like me but everyone has to start somewhere.

Any ideas as to 'stage fright' also? Example, when I present in class I shake, the talent show will be held in a sea of people in our schools gymnaisim. (I'm in grade 11).
    I need to try and focus up there and do my job if I do except this challenge and that'll probably only happen by ignoring the crowd/ rarely looking at them so I can just play what i've learned in the alloted time.