Thread: How to contact other amateur musicians?

User Info Menu

Default How to contact other amateur musicians?

Hi,

I've been playing the drums now for about 6 months. My drum teacher has told me that I should get together with other musicians about the same ability as myself and play for fun.

He has said that as soon as his other pupils of any standard have done this, their playing ability has dramatically improved.

Now this is easy if you are a teenager as just about every youngster with a guitar wants to play in a band and they all need a drummer.

My problem is that I'm pushing 60 years of age and would like to play with other guys (or gals) nearer my own age. There is a programme in the U.K. called 'Weekend Warriors' which puts older musicians together into a band and that would be ideal. Unfortunately, this is in England and I'm based in Scotland.

Can anyone suggest ways in which I can get in touch with other people like myself, who play other instruments but not to a very high standard, who would like to simply jam together at weekends?

Thanks,

Paul.

Gifts for Musicians

User Info Menu

Default Re: How to contact other amateur musicians?

Check with your local music store many of them have bullitin boards where you can post and ad, kind of a musicians looking for musicians type forum.
    Gretsch Catalina Birch 6 piece fusion set (10,12,14,16in. Toms, 22 Bass). Sabian 20" HH Classic Ride, 16" Istanbul Agop Dark Crash, & Zildian K 13" Hi-hats.

User Info Menu

Hey Dunplaying

Nice post.
    I have been wondering the same thing lately.
    I am 42years old.

I was going to put an ad in our local community paper, just a cheap 2 line ad for about 20 bucks or so.

Might be worth a shot too?

Wotto
    ' Up the Irons '

User Info Menu

Craigslist has a list for local muscians to chat !
    E Drums !! !

There are no loud instruments just loud players !

Protect Your Hearing !!!!

User Info Menu