Thread: foot speed disaster today

User Info Menu

Default foot speed disaster today

ok a little background for those who don't know me yet. i started playing drums at the early age of 3. i played religiously (no pun intended) until the age of 21ish. somewhere around 16 or 17 i went to doubles so my whole life i had played with a single. i don't mean to sound like im bragging, but i was pretty stinking fast with the ol speed king. i went to doubles because hey everybody was doing it. ok back to the story i took my break to do the career thing and started back playing at 31. that was a year and a half ago and i've been working on getting my chops back. last weekend i removed the left pedal from the double to play just the single like i used to which brings us up to today. so i come home knowing that i have about and hour and a half before the family gets home. i settled into my headphones with a favorite cd. my intention is to push myself out there and do a self analysis of the results. the cd is upbeat with really good grooves and i played thru about 6 of the faster songs on it. the results: timing = human metranome: hand speed = surprising solid: feeling the groove = man was i ever feeling it: right foot speed= POO, ! i found out very quickly i had become dependant on the left foot working with the right to do things i used to do easily with the right alone. halfway thru one particular song my right foot began to get tense and dang near froze up so im thinking my technique with the righty has gotten very sloppy and i need someone here to point me in the direction of recovery. they say the first step is to admit you have problem and i think i just did.
    Last edited by cdaug; 04-02-2008 at 10:10 PM.

User Info Menu

Cool Re: foot speed disaster today