Thread: Local music shop closing doors forever today!

User Info Menu

Default Local music shop closing doors forever today!

Today was Samuel Music's last day open in my home town of Bloomington, IL. Sad to see them go, but they had some great blow out prices to get rid of inventory. I have been playing my original B8 Sabian hi-hats for almost 20 years...granted I took like a 12 year break in that time to do the family thing, so new hi-hats weren't on priority list. By the way ...all of my crashes are Zildjian...pre "A" not brilliant...maybe vintage???don't know???. So, today, my bass player and I walk into the music shop....unaware of the sale going on...and I find a set of Zildjian "A" mastersound hi-hats.....for $190.00...also in the bin was a set of "Z" custom hi-hats for $224.00... So I put them both on stands for side by sides. Did I mention how much I always hated the way MY hi-hats sounded? Both sets listed for $480.00....but I actually preffered the sound of the "A"s plus they match the look of my current Zildjian's. So now they are a part of my kit. And...I love 'em....what a difference...I actually LIKE my hi-hats now. I've only had 'em for a half a day, but playin the little bit I did was so different...I've never lifted my hats so much...now it sounds good...they're louder, they're crisper, they're cleaner sounding. I know a lot of you would have gone for the "Z" customs, but they seemed to have a certain resonance in them that drove me crazy with th B8's. So, I went with what matched my crashes.

Band practice is tomorrow and I told my bass player not to tell anyone of the new purchase...I'm curious if they will notice...not just the sound of the hats...but my new confidence in my new toy.

User Info Menu

Default Re: Local music shop closing doors forever today!