Thread: what is the best amp for electronic drums

User Info Menu

Default what is the best amp for electronic drums

Hi my name is Bob I have been playing accoustic drums for years now i bought a yamaha dtxexpress electronic drum set with a 300 watt keyboard amp that came with it i get good bass drum sound but don't get much cymbal tone out of it is there a better amp that I can get that would work for me this is my first electronic set. Please help me if you can Thank You!

User Info Menu

Default Re: what is the best amp for electronic drums

My first reaction is to go to any local music shops that might offer amplification systems or sells electronic drums so you can hear what you would be buying.

I know there are several brands out there but I've only played through PA systems or headphones so I have no experience with "monitor" systems for edrums.
    Signature here

User Info Menu

Hey bdrummer welcome to drumchat ! I too play thru a keyboard amp but, 99 % of the time i play with head phones because i only use the electric kit for practice . If i was going to play them out i would really want a complete sound system for the kit. Amps,effects,main speakers,subs and monitors unless the groups sound system was up to the task then a couple of powered monitors would work...with 15" speakers like the JBLs,peavey,mackie...ect I have played thru my churchs system for awhile it's bose 2 over heads and a sub sounds good there but, would not be near enough for a concert ! I really think you can shop around and find a powered speaker system with sub for a good price ! Hope this helps ! John
    E Drums !! !

There are no loud instruments just loud players !

Protect Your Hearing !!!!

User Info Menu