Thread: I walked into the music store and....

User Info Menu

Default I walked into the music store and....

I guess its important to briefly understand my position. I am just learning to play drums. I've been playing for a month. I know some basic beats and have begun combining them in two measure exercises.

So I walk into my local music store, just to kill time as my wife is in her mecca, Michael's (the arts and crafts store). I wander over to keyboards looking for two new models and neither are there yet. I decide to head over to drums really not having a clue about what I'm doing or looking at in terms of difference in quality sound ect. I play on an expensive Yamaha kit, sounds nice, plays nice (at least I'm not giving anyone headaches because I can keep a beat anymore). The point is that the special uniqueness of this expensive and great Yamaha Kit I'm playing on is wasted on someone like me as I really am not good enough to notice the subtleties.

I play some ekits and loved some of the Roland ones but I simply don't need and or don't have the room for an ekit. I will say Roland has done a remarkable job with these ekits.

Then I find myself in front of the Congas. I strike one passing by it nonchalantly and like the sound, I stop, go back and strike it again. Man that sound, Santana and many other songs and bands flood my mind, it has begun. I play for a little but not really knowing how to play the Congas. I do at least play on beat and can produce a decent sound as my open and Bass sounds are passible. The slap, well lets just say that one will take a while. I am now in my own world and loving it. My wife comes in and sees it in my eyes. I've got the fever, I'm buying me some Congas baby, yeah baby yeah!! I buy the Congas and got some decent ones they were used but they were the Latin Congas and of good quality I've been told.