Thread: Who is schooled?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

User Info Menu

Default Who is schooled?

Hi, A newbie here and very delighted to become a member. I have to admit I was unaware a forum for drummers existed. Nevertheless, I wish to extend a warm hello to everyone. Also, I see there are a number of members using some play on the word "Sticks". This is actually a life long nick name given to me in grammar school because I always carried a pair of drum sticks where ever I went.
    A bit about me; I started playing percussion at age 9 and haven't looked back since. I've had formal training with local Buffalo Symphony Orchestra Percussionist at private lessons, attended two year music conservatory, and went on to a four year college where I studied percussion as primary instrument, composition, music education and theater. I am currently enjoying life as a fill in drummer for some local groups. Not playing professionally now but had my fill in the past.
    Well, enough of me. My question "Who is schooled" is out of curiosity in hearing from those of you who have taken private lessons and or formal grade school and or college education. Who were has it taken you? Have you completed a degree (BA, Masters, etc)? How many of you are or have played professionally (by professionally I mean not only for money but with a famous group or show or what have you.

Running out of time here so I'll come back soon to check replies and get to know you all soon.
    Keep on rolling!

User Info Menu

Default Re: Who is schooled?

tutored by graham haare- atleast I think that's how you spell it. currently tutored by Malcolm D*ick, the drummer for blackmore's night. Doing my grade 6 Trinity Guildhall :D Speaking of people who use a play on the word "sticks" lol Mine's from an old band I used to play in
    caution drummer may bite

User Info Menu

Hey Styxx , welcome to the forum,