Thread: Hi-Hat Notation and Tonality/replacement recommendation

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    ClayShannon Guest

Default Hi-Hat Notation and Tonality/replacement recommendation

I am relatively new to drums and have a basic question about notation:

When it says for the Hi-Hat to be played open, does this mean open from the git-go, or start closed, and then open it ("bark" or "pschht") right after striking it?

And does "half-open" Hi-Hat mean played loosely (barely stepping on the Hi-Hat pedal) or open it after hitting it, but for less distance/time than a fully opened Hi-Hat?

BTW, the Hi-Hat I have sounds horrendously bad - the tone is that of a trash can lid, especially when played closed. It also often has a wheezy whine to it, aggravating in the extreme. Any recommendations/suggestions on a moderately-priced replacement? And should I just replace the Hi-Hat cymbals, or the whole shebang (stand and all)?

User Info Menu

Default Re: Hi-Hat Notation and Tonality/replacement recommendation

Quote Originally Posted by ClayShannon View Post
    I am relatively new to drums and have a basic question about notation:

When it says for the Hi-Hat to be played open, does this mean open from the git-go, or start closed, and then open it ("bark" or "pschht") right after striking it?

And does "half-open" Hi-Hat mean played loosely (barely stepping on the Hi-Hat pedal) or open it after hitting it, but for less distance/time than a fully opened Hi-Hat?

BTW, the Hi-Hat I have sounds horrendously bad - the tone is that of a trash can lid, especially when played closed. It also often has a wheezy whine to it, aggravating in the extreme. Any recommendations/suggestions on a moderately-priced replacement? And should I just replace the Hi-Hat cymbals, or the whole shebang (stand and all)?