Thread: Beginner....feel free to throw fruit

User Info Menu

Default Beginner....feel free to throw fruit

eh yeah im kinda taking a bit of a break from guitar and i have started playing around on drums.i've been playing on and off (but not dedicated) for about 3 years. i've got the handle of most standard beats but i always encounter one problem in my fills.... whenever i try any fast tom fills take for example....assassin (muse) (dom howards one of my favourites) 80% of the time i always end up missing the actual toms and hitting the edges! ive been trying to nail these techniques for a while but i can't!

any tips?
    Last edited by mexicancounciloffood; 10-18-2006 at 08:58 AM.

User Info Menu

proper tilt in toms seems like the issue- make sure you have your set fit up so that the drums are going to naturally be hit..for example some people tilt their snares so that when they make a strike its more natural hit---ur arms autmatically go in that position

I hope this makes sense..if not ask me to go in depth with the explanation

Hope this helped!
    Happy drumming!
    LucidDrummer212, Taking over the drumchat forums 1 post at a time...

myspace.com/rdsspike345

User Info Menu

Guitarist here also. My son started playing when he was nine, so getting his kit to fit him has been a big issue. I found that getting everything low enough was as important as the angle of the toms.

User Info Menu

if he grows more into playing you could invest on a mini set- i say itll last as long as hes under or up around 5 feet...by then its time for a real set...

just a sugestion

Hope this helped!
    Happy Drumming!

myspace.com/rdsspike345

User Info Menu