Thread: Anyone ever heard of this?

User Info Menu

Default Anyone ever heard of this?

This my be dumb but, I'm new to drumming so get used to it.

My friends dad used to play and he was telling me a story about his most favorite cymbal he ever had. He couldn't remember the brand but, he said he found this cymbal on the side of the road and it was like a 18" crash and it had holes drilled all around the edge with loose rivets in the holes. He said when you hit it, the cymbal would make the sweetest sizzle as the rivets rattled in the holes. I've never seen a cymbal like this. Have any of you guys seen it or maybe have one and a pic?

User Info Menu

Default Re: Anyone ever heard of this?

ive seen them, there old cymbals. but ive seen them
    play till the day i die. it makes more sense that way.

"You should set up your drums around the toilet. You know you must use it everyday and lets be realistic, nothing better is going on when your sitting on there. Why not take care of business and play the drums." silver dragon sound

User Info Menu

I had one in the early days of my drumming life. I beleive they were called "Sizzle" cymbals and I am pretty sure were popular in the 60s with Rock bands and also to a lesser degree in jazz cirlces though I am sure someone on here will know for sure

ps I took the rivets out of mine and used it as a ride - it sounded poo!!
    PPs I am pretty sure its still knocking around at my parents house!
    Dustin Lee Burgess
    Northfleet, England
    mapex mafia & paiste posse

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Dustin View Post
    I had one in the early days of my drumming life. I beleive they were called "Sizzle" cymbals and I am pretty sure were popular in the 60s with Rock bands and also to a lesser degree in jazz cirlces though I am sure someone on here will know for sure

ps I took the rivets out of mine and used it as a ride - it sounded poo!!
    PPs I am pretty sure its still knocking around at my parents house!