Thread: Remo Emperor on the snare batter?

User Info Menu

Default Remo Emperor on the snare batter?

I was watching a you tube video where they were explaining Jihn Bonham's setup. He used Remo Emperor Coated on all his batter even the snare and Bass. He used an Ambassador Coated on all the reso's except fot the snare that was an ambassador clear. My question is..Can you use a regular Remo 2ply Emperor on the snare batter? I'm new to heads and love the sound of the Emperors. If I can pu one of those on my snare I'm going today to buy one. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in Advance!

User Info Menu

Default Re: Remo Emperor on the snare batter?

I use a coated emperor on my Supra 402 as well(same drum as Bonham's). So to answer your question, of course you can; you can do anything you want as long as it sounds good to you.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by backtodrum View Post
    I use a coated emperor on my Supra 402 as well(same drum as Bonham's). So to answer your question, of course you can; you can do anything you want as long as it sounds good to you.
    I really like the sound of Bonham's drums. I don't that beautiful Ludwig kit that he had. i have a Catalina Maple Kit. But i can try to come as close as possible. I'm not sure if I like a coated head on the bass drum though, i might go with a powersonic clear head. Those have a great thump to them. Thanks for the response I appreciate it...

User Info Menu

wouldn't an emperor on the kick sound like crap? but empeors are great snare and tom heads

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by DeathMetalDrummer View Post
    wouldn't an emperor on the kick sound like crap? but emperors are great snare and tom heads