Thread: Thinking of giving it a whirl?

User Info Menu

Default Thinking of giving it a whirl?

I am curious as to what you guys think about this. I have been studying hand drums (congas, djembe, etc) for the past 3 or 4 years, have been learning to read music, and generally been making what I consider to be good progress. I am a bit familiar with the concepts of drum rudiments, but only as I have adapted them to hand drumming.

Well, today while I was waiting for my drum lesson, I saw a flyer on the board for a local bagpipe and drum corp and it really piqued my interest. They described it as a non-competition, all age bracket corp.

The last time I did any kind of marching band was back in jr. high where I played some snare, but mostly bass drum and a lot of "auxilary" percussion. (I am 43, so this was like eons ago!)

My question is, given my background would it be overly difficult to pick up a scottish drum corp drum? Also, would you recommend snare, bass, or tenors? How would you recommend getting started?

Thanks!
    ---- If thine enemy wrong thee, buy each of his children a drum. - chinese proverb

User Info Menu

Default Re: Thinking of giving it a whirl?

Wow, how much time would you have before the competition Midgard? I don't know about the availability of the drum you would need, but I'm sure you could brush up on your technique with a little effort. If you could get the drum, it really wouldn't hurt to give it a try. The worst that could happen is that you might come away with a bruised ego, but that's the worst. You might just find that you've found a whole new, and exciting niche for your drumming! I would say, if it's piqued your interest, give it shot!
    Quoting gonefishin: Just have some bacon with ya when you go pick her up..........youre an instant chick magnet.

For coupons and specials, join the Drum Bum mailing list.

Buy Gifts for Drummers. And don't miss the free Drum Lessons!

User Info Menu