Thread: beginner

User Info Menu

Default beginner

yeah thats right, im a beginner.

i want to try out for highschool drumline next year

where should i start learning

my brother (who went off to college so he cant teach me anything) left behind some sticks, and a couple practice pads behind for me to work with.

Where should i start?

also, i have started just messing around on the practice pads to get a feel for them, and i noticed my left hand is a LOT more slower and less coordinated than my right. what are ways of helping this?
    Last edited by christian_skater; 10-23-2006 at 02:46 PM.

User Info Menu

Hi Christian, (love your user name btw)
    Take some lessons with a qualified teacher. This will help you get on track and not pick up too many bad habits. Bad habits are hard to break once you learn them. Find a teacher that helps with drumlines. They're the best as they know "exactly" what you need to be competitive.

Start by buying the book, Ted Reed's Syncompation. Go through the first few pages of that book and practice everything on the pad. Make yourself do exercises to strengthen your left hand like:

LLLL, LLLL
    LLLR, LLLR
    LRLL LRLL
    LLRL LLRL
    RRRR, LLLR

You'll find tons of these types of exercises in the Ted Reed book.

If you don't already know of it, check out the Drum Lesson Database. It's got tons of free drum lessons of all styles and for beginner to advanced.

Hope this helps! Good luck and welcome again. Please post a lot and take part in this cool drum family of ours!

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by drummer
    Hi Christian, (love your user name btw)
    Take some lessons with a qualified teacher. This will help you get on track and not pick up too many bad habits. Bad habits are hard to break once you learn them. Find a teacher that helps with drumlines. They're the best as they know "exactly" what you need to be competitive.