Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fill Ideas

User Info Menu

Default Fill Ideas

As im new to drumming (half year) and have not takin lessons (taught myself) i would like to have like a repertoire of fills for improvisation as my band enjoys jamming during live gigs. Are there any specific fills that you guys really enjoy and use frequently, i dont care how difficult they are as i want to really improve. And any ideas of creatin my own
    MY KIT: 5 Piece Westbury, Remo Ambassador Heads and Remo Muff'l Rings on all drums, Sabian AA 20" Metal-X Ride, Zildjian ZXT 16" Rock Crash, Pearl 14" Hats, Pearl 18" Crash Ride, Wuhan 12" China

Band Website:

The Torpedo Identity

http://www.myspace.com/thetorpedoidentity
    http://www.purevolume.com/blacksunn

User Info Menu

Hi Amp,
    I use a lot of odd phrasings and roll variations and stuff like that but you don't want to start with stuff that's too advanced. Start with things that you can grasp onto real fast like taking 4 sixteenth notes and playing the first three on snare (RLR) and put the 4 note on the kick drum. You can do this down the kit. Pick up the Carmine Appice book for a lot of great variations of fills just like this.

User Info Menu

well heres one i made up not too long ago...

snare=s
    hightom=h
    floortom =f
    bassdrum=b

s lo-------f-o-------f-oooo--oo--ool
    h l--o---------o-------------------l
    f l----o---------o-----------------l
    b l------oo--------oo------oo--oo--l

sorry that f means flam hope this gives you an idea

User Info Menu

S=snare
    C= crash
    B= bass
    B2= 2nd bass
    its played in triplets between bass and snare i dont know how to tad out triplets yet so sorry!
    simple snare and bass fill that you can add in almost any thing to
    S [-----o-----o--o--o--o[
    B [---o-----o---o--o--o-[
    B2[-o-----o----o--o--o--[
    i dought this is tabbed out right cause the triplet parts but yea its fun to play