Thread: Newbie Saying Hello and Some Questions

User Info Menu

Default Newbie Saying Hello and Some Questions

Hello, I'm a newbie bongo player and found this forum recently. I've only been playing for a few days--I mostly play guitar (with a smattering of ukulele and harmonica), but wanted to add a percussion instrument. Bongos seemed like a good choice because they're inexpensive, portable and look like they're just plain fun.

I've got a couple of Trevor Salloum books on playing bongos, The Bongo Book and Bongo Drumming/Beyond the Basics and have found a few instructional sites on the Internet.

I bought a set of LP Aspire bongos as a scratch and dent item from one of the large online retailers and they seem like they'll be acceptable for learning on, but I'm not getting nearly as high a pitch on the macho as many of the videos I've seen. I have seen suggestions to tune the macho up as high as you can without damaging the head of the drum and I've tuned it up until the tuning wrench seems pretty hard to turn further. I'd like to avoid splitting or tearing the head, but don't know how far I can tune up until I go too far.

Does anyone have any tuning suggestions for me? It also occurs to me that some of the tones that I hear in videos are more related to technique and less to tuning. Is this an accurate assumption?

Next, and it's related to my tuning question, has anyone tried the Remo Fiberskyn heads for the Aspires? They seem to be fairly priced and I was wondering if a synthetic head would give me the higher pitch I'm looking for. Even if the Fiberskyn heads wouldn't help my pitch problem, would it be a good idea to buy a set of heads to have as spares? The replacement heads that LP sells for the Aspires seem to cost nearly as much as I paid for the bongos themselves and this is a bit off-putting to me.

Thanks for your patience with a rookie,

Cassady

User Info Menu

Default Re: Newbie Saying Hello and Some Questions