Thread: coated drum heads

User Info Menu

Default coated drum heads

I have been playing for about 2 years and im replacing my drum heads i have always used non-coaed heads and im thinking maybe coated heads would sound nice i have a pacific LX fusion kit and wondering if coated would be good for me.

i play alot of punk, ska, and reggae

User Info Menu

Default Re: coated drum heads

I would say try them out. If you don't like them, keep them for a spare.

User Info Menu

i use coated, i reckon they look and sound better.. but they show stick marks really quickly.

every-one has their own preference. you may as well give them a whirl and see what you think.
    When Everything is coming your way, Your in the wrong Lane!

IL DUCE Guest

The last time I did a complete head change was in march. I did all my batters and reso's. I hadn't used coated heads in years. This time I figured let me givem a shot it's been awhile. I'm so happy with the sound I got out of my Kit. I used Evans G2 coateds The was a profound change in the sound my kit was produceing. My drums never sounded better. If nothing else thry changeing just one and see if you like it, If you do go out and get the rest.

User Info Menu

okay thanks everyone

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by StevenJownes View Post
    I have been playing for about 2 years and im replacing my drum heads i have always used non-coaed heads and im thinking maybe coated heads would sound nice i have a pacific LX fusion kit and wondering if coated would be good for me.

i play alot of punk, ska, and reggae
    I recently change from Evans clear top & bottom to Coated G2 batters and G1 Coated bottom heads on a new set of Gretsch Renowns. As with most things, this is subjective and a matter of perception. But to my ear the coated heads seem to provide three things:

1) They warm things up a bit

2)They provide more control.

3) They gravitate to a lower fundamental note.