Thread: *School Band*

User Info Menu

Exclamation *School Band*

Ok, so I have been drumming for 5 months now and I want to be in a school band and play the drum set. I can read music because my mom has been making me play the violin for a while(I know loser instrument!). I can sight read violin music pretty well but not drum set music(I can read drum set music but not fast). So my question is, what do I need to learn before I can even think about joining a school band? Also, if you join a school band don't you need to play the percussion stuff to?

User Info Menu

Default Re: *School Band*

Well before you go and jump in and join it, ask around first. If you do drum, will you have to play all percussion instruments not just a drum kit. Also, PRACTICE! Anything the includes wrist movement. Play rudiments on a pillow helps a lot. The pillow makes for a lot less or no rebound at all which helps your wrist. Also, try basic drum beats. Try covering The White Stripes or mabye a moderately easy band that you think you can cover.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by MyBelievedFallenVictim View Post
    Well before you go and jump in and join it, ask around first. If you do drum, will you have to play all percussion instruments not just a drum kit. Also, PRACTICE! Anything the includes wrist movement. Play rudiments on a pillow helps a lot. The pillow makes for a lot less or no rebound at all which helps your wrist. Also, try basic drum beats. Try covering The White Stripes or mabye a moderately easy band that you think you can cover.
    Thanks. I have no problem covering songs. I started doing that the first day I started drumming. I have memorized about 34 rudiments and I practice them pretty often. Right now I'm working on my speed. Just wanted to know what it's like in a school band.
    Last edited by Nik276; 08-10-2008 at 03:07 AM.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by MyBelievedFallenVictim View Post
    Are you in a school band?

User Info Menu