Thread: Electronic or soundproofing

User Info Menu

Default Electronic or soundproofing

Greetings,

I started playing drums so long ago that we didn't have drum kits, we had "trap sets." I first set up in our living room and later moved to the garage. Many years later my son began playing drums and found out two things. One is that drums are really loud! The other is that my parents were either def or far more tolerant than I gave them credit for.

I have finally decided that I am going to start playing again. However, my wife is far less tolerant than my parents and I must either soundproof a room or get electronic drums.

I have read most of the posts under electronic drums and it sounds like I probably want mesh heads for the feel but after that, I don't know what seperates the toys from the instruments. What should I look for?

The DIY kits sound interesting and I have some experience with electronics but I wouldn't know where to start in converting my accoustic kit, which consists of snare, bass, two mounted, and two floor toms to an e-kit.

What I want to do is figure out how much it will cost to get something I get as much satisfaction out of playing as I do my accoustics. I guess if I absolutely have to, I can sell my accoustics as I would rather have something I can enjoy playing instead of something I stack in a closet. However I know $5,000 for a Roland TD20K is out of my price range.

So what do you think, where do I begin?

User Info Menu

Default Re: Electronic or soundproofing

Personally. after owning 4 or 5 different electronic sets over the past 20 years and spending time at Sam Ash looking at both the TD12 and TD20 (I used to have a TDK-9 years back and more recently a Yamaha kit), I went back to acoustics. No matter how much you spend, I find them fun to practice on but not quite as dynamic as acoustics. For me, it was a sound and space issue, which I don't have to worry about now.

I just feel $3,000+ for a practice kit is too much.