Thread: Hitting my cymbals

User Info Menu

Default Hitting my cymbals

Hi, I'm new to the drum set, but not new to drumming. I have a question about how to correctly hit my crash cymbals. I know there may not be 1 correct way, but I'm really worried about ruining my cymbals by putting too many nicks or dents in them, and maybe even cracking them. I've done some research online and some experiments myself. I found that I prefer to hit the edge of the crash, which unfortunately, seems like the most likely place to get nicked and banged up. I've also seen many people cracking there cymbals, and I don't have the money to replace my cymbals like crazy. Any information on how to correctly hit the edge of the crash, and keeping my cymbal lasting for a long time would be great. My 3 crashes, are a 14" thin, 16" thin, and 18" thin. Thanks in advance.

User Info Menu

Default Re: Hitting my cymbals

A lot of it depends on how hard you are hitting them. If every time you hit them, you see wood flying and the stand nearly falls over, you may soon crack your cymbals. Also, the type of cymbals may play a role. There are other drummers that will give you good advice. Welcome to Drum Chat!

User Info Menu

Welcome to Drum Chat Esand15!

You are wise to ask this question. The answer to protecting your cymbals is to strike across the cymbal instead of straight on. You'll still get good sound out of the cymbal, but you keep from putting so much energy into a single point.
    Quoting gonefishin: Just have some bacon with ya when you go pick her up..........youre an instant chick magnet.

For coupons and specials, join the Drum Bum mailing list.

Buy Gifts for Drummers. And don't miss the free Drum Lessons!

User Info Menu

Here is some info I coppied from the West Coast Drums website