Thread: Help Pick Electronic Drums

User Info Menu

Default Help Pick Electronic Drums

Hello everyone,

I am new to the forum, but not drumming. I have been playing for over twenty years now. I have reciently moved and keeping a practice set in the house in not really an option any more; mainly due to noise and closeness of neighbors. I am going to sell my home practice kit and pick up an electronic kit. I am totally new to electronic drums, so I have several questions.

1) What is a good starting off sound module/controller? I would like something has a fair number of inputs so that I can grow with. Also, I would like to be able to change the pitch of each drum.

2) Can different triggers, either drum of cymbol, be used with different makers of sound modules/controller? If I have a drum pad from X, can I plug it into Y?

3) Where would a good place to look for a nice used kit?

Thanks,
    Keith

User Info Menu

Hey Kromberg, welcome to Drumchat! I have had a Roland TD-8 kit for the last couple years. What kind of price range are you looking at? A good starter would be the Roland TD-3 module, but I would spend the extra $100 to move up to a TD-6 or TD-7. They have room for 5 drums, 2 cymbals, and hihats, plus room to add 2 more triggers. The tom sounds are totally tweakable, so you will be able to get them to sound any way you want. For the bass trigger, go with a KD-7 instead of the KD-8. They are known to break. Roland modules will accept Roland and Pintech triggers. Roland pads can be switched out of phase so they can go to any module. The Yamaha DTX series kits are very similar, but the mesh toms from Roland feel a lot more natural.

As far as finding a good used kit, I would check Ebay or Craigslist for a complete kit. I just sold my kit on Craigslist for $1000. You should be able to find a complete TD-6 kit or Yamaha DTX kit for less than $800. You could also go with an old Alessis module and put just about any triggers on it.