Thread: Sticking to Tradition?

User Info Menu

Default Sticking to Tradition?

I'm wondering how many of you guys stick to traditional rhythms and techniques when it comes to playing percussion instruments like congas, bongos, djembe, doumbek, etc? Many people will tell you there is a set traditional way to play congas etc. However at the same time I see professional musicians (by this I mean they get paid for playing music) hitting congas with sticks and mallets or I could see an entire show where the conga player doesn't play a single slap for instance. Does it make them any less of a percussionist? Obviously not, they are getting paid the big bucks, but I constantly hear ridicule and negative feedback for that type of playing.

I have a small aluminum doumbek that I got off ebay 5 or 6 years ago for like $13. It is without a doubt one of my favorite drums to play. However, I have zero knowledge of traditional doumbek rhythms or technique. I even hold the drum wrong, between my legs like a conga or djembe as opposed to under the arm. I've developed a pretty sweet finger roll technique that I like to use when playing this particular drum. I think it sounds great, and I constantly get compliments on my speed. However I could guarantee that a true doumbek player would hate all over my style.

What is everyones take on staying true to traditional roots of the instrument?

User Info Menu

Default Re: Sticking to Tradition?