Thread: Need Drum Review

User Info Menu

Default Need Drum Review

Hey. This is my first post here.

I am going to get my first djembe. How is the Schalloch rope tuned djembe at musician's friend? IronLionZion87 created the same thread, but this is my introduction thread. Thanks.

User Info Menu

Default Re: Need Drum Review

Murddrum, welcome to Drum Chat!

I can't do much to help you with this question, because I'm new to hand drumming, and I am not a djembe guy, but hang in there because we have a large number of hand drummers in here. You'll get an answer in short order.

Again, welcome to Drum Chat!
    Quoting gonefishin: Just have some bacon with ya when you go pick her up..........youre an instant chick magnet.

For coupons and specials, join the Drum Bum mailing list.

Buy Gifts for Drummers. And don't miss the free Drum Lessons!

User Info Menu

Murddrum, let me ask you a couple questions: How long have you been playing drums? Do you have other hand drum experience? What do you plan to use this drum for (gigging, recording, just for fun, etc.)? How serious are you about the djembe? And lastly tell me what your budget is for a djembe?

I personally would never buy a Shalloch djembe. I'm not saying they are junk, its just that I've spent a few years studying djembe and for me a traditional hand carved rope tuned drum is the only thing that does it for me. I've messed around with the shalloch stuff at guitar center and it does not meet the standards that I personally look for in equipment. Please take into consideration that I've been playing drums/percussion for 15+ years and I don't buy budget gear anymore. For someone who is just learning on the djembe or someone who will only jam on it a couple times a month, it is probably the perfect drum.