Thread: Help with a song!

User Info Menu

Default Help with a song!

I'm just starting to learn to play and after reading here that Weezer's "Island in the Sun" is an easy first song to play that's where I decided to start.

Here is the song on YouTube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2hyoszso38E

The bass line for the entire song is the same two measures repeated. I've looked at about 10 different drum tabs and they have this...

Code:
      1 + 2 + 3 + 4 +  1 + 2 + 3 + 4 + 
    B|o-------o-------|o-------o-o---o-|
    I keep listening to the first couple of measures when the drums come in and I swear I hear this...
    Code:
      1 + 2 + 3 + 4 +  1 + 2 + 3 + 4 + 
    B|o-------o-------|o-o-----o-o-o-o-|
    Am I nuts? I thought maybe it was just the youtube version but I have the CD and it sounds the same to me.

User Info Menu

Default Re: Help with a song!

Am i alone in thinking that it doesn't really matter that much?
    Its such a small difference.

User Info Menu

Just play what feels good to you.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by bassist learning drums View Post
    Just play what feels good to you.
    Seconded.

User Info Menu

uh ho, ocd in the house.!!!
    seriously though, try it both ways, see which one you prefer, or just change it up when ya want to.
    Im actually pleased to see you care how to listen closely and be aware that, maybe the tune is not as the tab is written.

Official cowbell hater.

User Info Menu

I also think the extra hits u r hearing is the bass quitar line , it is hard to pick out the kick from the bass on this recording, either way will work for ya.
    I would go with the tabs myself.

Official cowbell hater.

User Info Menu

I don't mean to sound rude but if that's what you hear then play it that way. Playing what YOUR ear hears is a key step to developing your own sound.