Thread: Old Geovanni congas

User Info Menu

Default Old Geovanni congas

Hey everyone,
    I've been looking at conga heads and I see this on alot of catalogs (fits old Giovannis) what the heck is an "old Giovannis"? It's even on the Lp head catalog but I can't find a pic or anything on "old Giovannis". What ever it is it does not share the same size head as new Gio's. Has anyone ever seen one?
    L4C

User Info Menu

Default Re: Old Geovanni congas

Hmmm, possibly they mean old "Galaxy"?? Before the Giovanni Galaxies came out there were a fiberglass model Galaxy, not sure if they are still made or not. I used to own a set, they were top notch congas, but I think the head sizes were pretty standard.

They may also be refering to the difference between the Gio Galaxies and the Gio Palladiums. I never got into the giovanni line, so I'm no expert on this particular drum.

User Info Menu

Cool Re: Old Geovanni congas

L4C, there were indeed Giovanni Galaxy congas before the current Giovanni series. They were fiberglass congas, usually in black with an intense gold sparkle finish to them and gold hardware. Gretschhead, I always thought the Giovanni Galaxies were a TOL unto themselves and not a subseries of the Galaxy range, but I could be mistaken...but about three years ago, LP came out with the Giovannis that most of us drool over...and those, of course, are wood congas.

Given LP's track record for switching head sizes, the "old Giovanni" heads (read Giovanni Galaxy) may be a bit smaller than the current models, but I thought they were all the same size...supposedly the shell was a little taller (deeper) than the standard LPs, and they sounded richer than your basic model...

I have an old LP catalog from the early 90s, but I can't put my hands on it at the moment (ugh, man, BAD PUN!!!)...I will double-check this later today (Tuesday) and if I'm incorrect, I will put up the corrected info...

Somebody thinkin' of some Gios?