Thread: New to Drums

User Info Menu

Default New to Drums

Hey everyone, I'm just starting out and I had a few questions.

Would a Yamaha DTXpress IV standard be a good starter kit? I am currently in university in a house shared with 3 others, so an acoustic isn't really an option.

Also, for an e-kit like that one, what size of sticks would be recommended that would not damage the kit, or is that really a problem?

Any help is greatly appreciated

User Info Menu

Default Re: New to Drums

i think only a few people have E-kits on here. i cant answer your question about the type of kit that would be nice but i know that the size of the stick really doesnt matter. at guitar center theyll just hand out any size stick to someone who wants to play the electro kits, i mean all the heads are setp to have somewhat of the same feel as acoustics so that you can play it just like an acoustic. good luck bro

User Info Menu

I would believe any kit would be a good starter kit. It will serve its purpose. The purpose helping you learn how to play and develop your groove. Welcome SNAKE!

User Info Menu

Hey Snake, Welcome to Drum Chat!

Not a big ekit fan here myself, but I live in a condo and use Sound Off mutes on my acoustics and they don't bother my neighbors at all. Might be a consideration for you. My neighbors don't hear my drums at all if they have music or the tv on.
    Why do psychics have to ask you your name? And how come you never heard of a psychic winning the lottery?
    Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines.

User Info Menu

In spite of what some would have you believe, drums, like any other musical instrument, can be played very, very quietly.

Welcome to the forum.

User Info Menu

Thanks for the welcomes everyone!

Norske, I like the idea of the mutes. With the mutes on does it still have the acoustic feel/response or is it like playing on practice pads?

User Info Menu