Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: hello everyone

User Info Menu

Default hello everyone

i just thought i'd drop in to say hello. i joined the site yesterday. i'm a new drummer, a chick, and a leftie (a new drummer, not a new chick or a new leftie )! yikes. can you imagine if i was blonde too? only kidding. i was just wondering whether or not women drummers are readily accepted into male bands. i played ice hockey for eons, 10 years in a men's league, so i can hold my own with guys. but this is not sports, this is music. i am absolutely LOVING playing the drums. love it. love it. love it. i wouldn't have started taking lessons if i didn't want to eventurally play in a band. was just wondering, that's all. what say you all?

User Info Menu

There are bands out there who wouldn't consider having a girl as their drummer. For that matter, there are probably some chick bands who wouldn't want a guy. If you're good there will still be plenty of opprtunities. Talent is talent.

Welcome to Drum Chat.

User Info Menu

but i wouldnt make fun of blonde girl drummers

lezzle will shank you lol
    MY KIT: 5 Piece Westbury, Remo Ambassador Heads and Remo Muff'l Rings on all drums, Sabian AA 20" Metal-X Ride, Zildjian ZXT 16" Rock Crash, Pearl 14" Hats, Pearl 18" Crash Ride, Wuhan 12" China

Band Website:

The Torpedo Identity

http://www.myspace.com/thetorpedoidentity
    http://www.purevolume.com/blacksunn

User Info Menu

hehe...poor lezzle...j/k....yeah if your good you will find people to play with but be ready for those few jerks that will not accept you....

User Info Menu

Hey what do you have against blond-lefty-chick-drummers?
    my goodness.. lol
    -Leslie (aka Lezzle..)

If in any way I show signs of stupidity or lack of intellegence, this is why:

Blond + Drummer =

User Info Menu

there's a blond drummer for Skillet. she rocks too. skillet has 2 guys and 2 girls. btw
    "Music is always an experiment."

User Info Menu