Thread: TAMA 1st Chair HT530 Wide Rider Drum Throne

User Info Menu

Cool TAMA 1st Chair HT530 Wide Rider Drum Throne

Let's face it, we drummers do a lot of sittin' down on the job. That's a given if you're a kit player, but, unless you're a timbalero or a tumbadero (aka conguero) who always plays standing up, you hand drummers do a lot of sittin' as well as slappin'.

When I started playing percussion in our my church's guitar ensemble six years ago, I thought, "no problem! I'll swipe the throne from my home drum kit." That worked...up to a point...as anyone whose legs have gone numb after a major rehearsal or a gig. (Other parts of a guy's anatomy go numb, too, but this is a G-rated review.)

The TAMA 1st Chair HT530 Wide Rider Drum Throne is the answer to my problem! As the name implies, the motorcycle-style seat is WIDE...nearly 17" wide at its widest part and some 15" front to back. That's more than enough to accommodate this reviewer's own wide seat! Up to 4 1/2" of contoured foam padding, covered by some very cool-looking heavy leather-grained vinyl, makes it a very comfortable place to sit whether you're rockin' the kit or bangin' the bongos. Speaking of cool, there's a red-and-white pin-stripe design embroidered on the back of the seat, surrounding the TAMA name. Too bad you don't see it unless you're hovering right behind the drummer (not recommended! ) A contoured, slot-like depression at the front of the seat helps you keep the beat goin' through a long gig without strain or numbness in the central business district.