Thread: Drum Chat newcomer... my two solo vids

User Info Menu

Smile Drum Chat newcomer... my two solo vids

Hi everyone!
    I'm new to this great site... thought I would participate in the action! Here is the link to two drum solos I recently recorded... let me know what you think and HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZZqfBfJIR8I

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gH7pVDPwNmY

User Info Menu

Default Re: Drum Chat newcomer... my two solo vids

Your Amazing!!!

User Info Menu

Welcome to Drum Chat Drumhead, and you are right, it is a great site!

Outstanding vids! Really great independence! Tell us how long you've been playing.
    Quoting gonefishin: Just have some bacon with ya when you go pick her up..........youre an instant chick magnet.

For coupons and specials, join the Drum Bum mailing list.

Buy Gifts for Drummers. And don't miss the free Drum Lessons!

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by drumhead39 View Post
    Hi everyone!
    .. let me know what you think...
    1st Video:
    Nice chops. I didn't like the diversion at 1:05. Some of the rhythms at 3:00 didn't go together IMO. It got rather eratic and busy. Love the double bass/cymbals fill at 2:13 and 3:42. You've got that down man! It was hard for me to look at your hi hat because it seemed to be out of time much of the time. Maybe it was just the YT delay. The height of your crash cymbals on the right made me uncomfortable too but I'm guessing you had those up for the camera... so we could see you right?

2nd Video:
    The beginning sounded stiff and contrived to me. I like the flow of 16th triplets around the kit from 2:30 to 2:36. Great left foot independence at 3:06! At 3:08, you start playing quarters up the toms. It's interesting to hear how choked that high tom is (8"?). It's a shame you can't get that same amount of sustain out of it as the other toms.

Man, your a great player. I'd love to hear you play with some groups. Tell us more about you!

Welcome to Drum Chat!