Thread: Opinion on new set would be greatly apreciated

User Info Menu

Post Opinion on new set would be greatly apreciated

Hey everybody,

Ive been looking for a good drum message board to join for quite some while and DC seem like it's the one!

My names Bryan and ive been druming for quite some time (6 years), but never with a set, only with a pad. My abilities have come to the point where just playing on a pad wont be sufficient enough for further progress as a drummer, and so I have determined that the purchasing of a kit is the right thing to do. Unfortunataly I have no experience in this matter (thats where all my soon to be friends at DC come in!) I have done my research and it seems as if the Gretsch Catalina Maple is the set for me....but being how big of a purchase this is, I am very precatious. I have a budget of anywhere from about $700-1200 (plus or minus some).

Do you guys think that this is the right choice for me?

Will the catalinas be a set that I will want to keep forever (and not want to upgrade as soon as i get them)?

It seems that the maples have been out for quite some time, should i be worried about an update to this line in the upcoming future?

Do drum companies usualy realese their whole 2009 line in the begining of 2009 and release nothing else durung the year?

Are their any other sets like the Maples i should consider?

It seems withen my budget range that I can either chose a set like the maples or nice cymbals like zildjan A's........?

Since the catalinas are a shell pack, do you guys sugest hardware.....?

It seems like everyone likes Evan's G2 heads.....should i purchase these with the kit.?

I know this is a lot of questions to ask.....and I would greatly apreciate jsut one responce to one of my question. Thank you all soo much for all of your help! It is greatly apreciated

Larrysperf Guest

Default Re: Opinion on new set would be greatly apreciated