Thread: hand/stick position Q...

User Info Menu

Default hand/stick position Q...

Alright so im a pretty much self taught drummer. I started drumming last April. I just randomly decided to pick up a kit and i fell in love with it.

so i recently hooked up with a drum teacher and hes helping me perfect my snare rudiments. right now im working on my paradidle and i have a question.

on the RR and the LL in RLRRLRLL im having trouble going from a firm grip to a "bounce" grip. since im self taught my bounce grip started out horrible and ive just now mastered turning my hands palm down while playing.

do all you guys bounce the stick on the RR and LL? and are there any tips you can give me on a way to hold the stick so that i can fluidly bounce it then go back to a single after it?

any input wuld help

User Info Menu

Default Re: hand/stick position Q...

I don't bounce, I single stick it like a double stroke roll.
    Jesse

1986 Tama Crestar - Lacquered Piano White
    2016 Roland TD-25K
    2015 Tama Starclassic B/B - Indigo Blue Sparkle

User Info Menu

on the double note try this. hit the first and squeezing the stick on the rebound for the second note. Hope that helped
    in the pocket

User Info Menu

Just play controlled strokes throughout and do it repetitively for many weeks. Don't overthink it. You'll gradually get faster. Your hands will know how to loosen up when you're ready. It comes very naturally.
    - Tom

See the new Drum Bum Store!

When you shop at Drum Bum or BuyGifts.com, you help with the costs of operating DrumChat.com. Please consider patronizing their fine stores. Whether you need unique music gifts for friends or just want a little something for yourself, Drum Bum is the place!

For coupons and specials, join the Drum Bum mailing list.

Buy Gifts for Drummers. And don't miss the free Drum Lessons!

User Info Menu